Pregnancy Blog: 9 Weeks

9 Weeks Pregnant
Holy nausea!  I’ve never had a queasy stomach or an easy gag reflex.  Now, just being alive makes me want to barf.  I was in the grocery store the other day and had to avert my eyes as I walked by the vegetable section.  I could feel the purple cabbage staring at me.

As for the yoga, I am down to practicing 2-3 times a week (from 5-7 classes/week).  I am just too tired.  The postures feel good, but I am exhausted.  It’s always a battle between go-to-class and take-a-nap.  I’ve taken to walking the other days of the week.  I must admit that I always feel better after I exercise.   I’m starting to think I may feel better if I get back to a daily practice.  Even just getting outside and starting to walk helps to ease the nausea.  The days that I’ve tried just staying home and taking a nap, I feel like garbage by 5 pm.  Plus, the pregnancy is still under wraps.  I had to sit out of a couple of postures in class the other day and everyone was asking what was wrong and was I sick.

Now I know first-hand why we don’t recommend starting a Bikram practice in the first trimester.  It’s too much to add on to all of the physical and hormonal changes.  A woman who wrote one of my pregnancy books calls morning sickness Progesterone Poisoning.  I think anyone who started at this time in the pregnancy would be scared away, not because of the yoga, but because your body feels horrible at this stage.

The best part of class are the backbends.  My stomach is in knots all day from the nausea, and getting to stretch my abdomen and release all of that tension feels great.  I could sleep in Savasana at the end for about a half an hour.

The one posture I have been enjoying the most is Standing Head-to-Knee.  I am gobbling up as much of it as I can get because I know that in a few weeks I won’t be able to do it again for a long time.

It’s been a big learning experience to have to sit down or even leave the room after this long practicing.  It’s given me a good reminder of what it feels like to be new to the practice.  There are times that I feel tired and think, I can’t hold Awkward the whole time.  Then I think, I have the muscle strength to do this and I realize how mental so much of this class can be.

We heard the heartbeat this week for the first time.  What an awesome experience!  Now I really don’t care who finds out I am pregnant.  I know there’s a baby in there that’s alive and kicking.  It was 170 beats per minute.  It should slow to 110 bpm by the birth.

Leave a Reply

