Pregnancy Blog 2: Three Months Post Partum

Sacroiliac Sprain

At least this time I know what it is. That pain I suffered with for six months after the birth of my daughter, I was able to identify at six weeks this time. I again have a sprain of the sacroiliac ligaments on the left hand side. Painful, but manageable. The hard part is my ego.

It’s so hard not to be able to do the postures normally. Now that I’m not pregnant or immediately postpartum, I just want to be able to do the class. I was set up in front of a new student yesterday and all I could think was, “Don’t copy me!”

Since puberty, I’ve always had issues with my left hip. Apparently the hormones and weight changes of pregnancy cause a sprain for me in the ligaments in the SI joint. Since the sacroiliac joint is a load-bearing joint that is not intended to move much (outside of pregnancy) any time it does move, it is incredibly, searingly painful.

For any of my lovies out there with postpartum SI issues, the main goal in practicing is stabilization of the joint. You can’t push it in any postures that flex the hip deeply, or that rotate or extend the spine deeply, particularly when the hips are fixed (floor bow, camel, spine twist). Pushing through the pain there, will only aggravate the sprain. The only thing to do is go easy in those types of movement, but keep the buttocks and hamstrings strong and flexible and give the area time to heal.

Stretches to the iliopsoas muscles and piriformus can help. Certain supplements are supposed to aid in healing ligaments. They take a while. That’s why sports therapists always say a broken bone is better than a sprained ankle. Remember, too, that there will still be some relaxin in your body for nine months postpartum, making your ligaments softer than normal.  It is wise to wait the entire nine months (even if it starts feeling better) before looking for more depth in those particular postures.

Judah is still sleeping better than Bella did for the first two years of her life, so I’m feeling pretty good otherwise. Spring is coming and who can’t be happy about that in New England?

Leave a Reply

